Acid Rock, Albums, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Jimi Hendrix – Both Sides of the Sky

I got this album from my daughter for Father’s Day….awesome album. Songs I’ve never heard, excellent. If you are a Hendrix fan this is a must buy.

Albums, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Mahogany Rush – World Anthem

Another great sounding album from this Canadian rock band, World Anthem was released in 1977 by Columbia Records / CBS Inc.

Side two is quite mellow for this band, not its usual rock n roll sound. Like always great album art work.

Albums, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock

Jeff Beck with the Jan Hammer Group – Live

Jeff Beck with the Jan Hammer Group Live is a live album released in 1977 by Jeff Beck. This album is mostly instrumental, different rock sound. Not my cup of tea, I still listened to it though.

Side one

1. “Freeway Jam” Max Middleton 7:21

2. “Earth (Still Our Only Home)” Jan Hammer 4:34

3. “She’s a WomanJohn Lennon, Paul McCartney 4:25

4. “Full Moon Boogie” Hammer, Jerry Goodman 6:07

Side two

5. “Darkness / Earth in Search of a Sun” Hammer 7:52

6. “Scatterbrain” Middleton, Jeff Beck 7:25

7. “Blue Wind” Hammer 6:20

Albums, Blues rock, Hard rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Foghat – Energized

Energized is the third album by the rock group Foghat. It was released in January 1974 and certified as a gold record in the United States. The first song “Honey Hush” has hints of “Train Kept A Rollin” rendition by Aerosmith.

Great sounding album!

1 “Honey Hush” — 4:19 (Lou W. Turner)

▪ Interpolates music from “Train Kept A-Rollin’” by Tiny Bradshaw, Howard Kay, and Lois Mann.

2 “Step Outside” — 6:18 (Dave Peverett, Rod Price, Roger Earl, Tony Stevens)

3 “Golden Arrow” — 4:03 (Peverett, Price)

4 “Home in My Hand” — 5:09 (Peverett, Price)

5 “Wild Cherry” — 5:27 (Peverett, Price, Earl, Stevens, Tom Dawes)

6 “That’ll Be the Day” — 2:33 (Jerry Allison, Buddy Holly, Norman Petty)

7 “Fly by Night” — 4:47 (Stevens)

8 “Nothin’ I Won’t Do” — 6:54 (Peverett, Price)

Albums, Fusion jazz, Instrumental Rock, music, Records, Rock

Ronnie Montrose – Open Fire

Open Fire was the first instrumental album from Ronnie Montrose which explored jazz, rock and acoustic concepts released in 1978. This is a different sounding album, not my piece of cake. This album was produced by Edgar Winter.

Side One

1 “Openers” – (Bob Alcivar) – 2:54

2 “Open Fire” – (Ronnie Montrose, Edgar Winter) – 3:53

3 “Mandolinia” – (Montrose) – 3:14

4 “Town Without Pity” – (Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington) – 3:17

5 “Leo Rising” – (Montrose) – 3:49

Side Two

1 “Heads Up” – (Montrose, Winter) – 3:39

2 “Rocky Road” – (J. Thomassie, C. Brent, J. Smith) – 4:23

3 “My Little Mystery” – (Montrose) – 4:34

4 “No Beginning/No End” – (Montrose)- 5:54

Acid Rock, Albums, Hard rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Mahogany Rush – Maxoom

Maxoom is the 1973 debut studio album by the Canadian rock band Mahogany Rush. It was also the debut of Frank Marino as the band’s producer. All songs are are written by Frank Marino and the album was dedicated to Jimi Hendrix. The Mahogany Rush sound is the Canadian “Jimi Hendrix”. Great album, great sound!

Track Listing:

1 “Maxoom” – 2:52

2 “Buddy” – 3:39

3 “Magic Man” – 2:29

4 “Funky Woman” – 3:15

5 “Madness” – 4:51

6 “All in Your Mind” – 3:13

7 “Blues” – 7:08

8 “Boardwalk Lady” – 2:37

9 “Back on Home” – 3:16

10 “The New Beginning” – 1:52

Albums, Blues, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

George Thorogood and the Destroyers – Move It On Over

Move It on Over is the second album by George Thorogood and the Destroyers released in 1978. My favourite song on the album “Move It On Over”, “Who Do You Love” and “The Sky Is Crying”. This is a great blues rock album.

Track listing

1 “Move It on Over” (Hank Williams) – 4:16

2 “Who Do You Love?” (Ellas McDaniel) – 4:15

3 “The Sky Is Crying” (Elmore James, Morgan Robinson) – 5:09

4 “Cocaine Blues” (T.J. Arnall) – 2:48

5 “It Wasn’t Me” (Chuck Berry) – 3:54

6 “That Same Thing” (Willie Dixon) – 3:05

7 “So Much Trouble” (Brownie McGhee) – 3:15

8 “I’m Just Your Good Thing” (James Moore) – 3:29

9 “Baby Please Set a Date” (Homesick James Williamson) – 4:42

10 “New Hawaiian Boogie” (E. James) – 4:34