Albums, Classic Rock, Hard rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Nazareth – Razamanaz

Razamanaz is the third studio album by the Scottish band Nazareth, released in 1973. It was the band’s first LP record to break the charts and was produced by Deep Purple’s Roger Glover.

When I first heard Nazareth I knew their music was up my alley. Good old loud rock and roll even though some of their songs are on the quieter side.

1. “Razamanaz” 3:52

2. “Alcatraz” 4:23

3. “Vigilante Man” 5:21

4. “Woke Up This Morning” 3:53

5. “Night Woman” 3:29

6. “Bad, Bad Boy” 3:55

7. “Sold My Soul” 4:49

8. “Too Bad, Too Sad” 2:55

9. “Broken Down Angel”

Albums, Blues, Blues rock, Classic Rock, Hard rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Led Zeppelin – IV

The untitled fourth studio album by the rock band Led Zeppelin, commonly known as Led Zeppelin IV, was released in November 1971 by Atlantic Records and was produced by guitarist Jimmy Page.

My copy of this album still has the plastic on it and the gatefold has never been opened. When I first got this album I heard “Black Dog” and I was WOW this is definitely Zeppelin. I’m sure everyone knows the song “Stairway to Heaven” as it is classic now.

When I first listened to the entire album some of the quieter songs weren’t heavy enough for me at the time. However I love all the songs on this album.

You gotta have it in your collection …. even digital!

Albums, Classic Rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Santana – Abraxas

Abraxas is the second studio album by the rock band Santana released in September 1970.

The biggest hits off this album are “Black Magic Woman” and “Oye Como Va”. I’ve had this album for decades and if I remember it was a trade for another album. I’m guessing I came out on top as this album is preserved in the National Recording Registry due to its “cultural, historic, or artistic significance.”

LP side 1

No. Title Writer(s) Length

1. “Singing Winds, Crying Beasts” (Instrumental) Mike Carabello 4:51

2. “Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen” Peter Green/Gábor Szabó 5:24

3. “Oye Como Va” Tito Puente 4:17

4. “Incident at Neshabur” (Instrumental) Alberto Gianquinto, Carlos Santana 4:58

LP side 2

No. Title Writer(s) Length

1. “Se a Cabo” José Areas 2:50

2. “Mother’s Daughter” Gregg Rolie 4:25

3. “Samba Pa Ti” (Instrumental) Santana 4:45

4. “Hope You’re Feeling Better” Rolie 4:10

5. “El Nicoya” Areas 1:30

Albums, Classic Rock, Hard rock, music, Progressive Rock, Psychedelic, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Queen – A Night At The Opera

A Night at the Opera is the fourth album by the rock band Queen, released in November 11975. It was the most expensive album ever recorded at the time of its release.

The movie Wayne’s World made Bohemian Rapsody a huge hit. When I bought this album, I’m thinking to myself that this is a very unique album. The sound is similar to the earlier Queen albums but different.

Definite must have in your record collection.

Side one

1. “Death on Two Legs 3:43

2. “Lazing on a Sunday Afternoon” 1:08

3. “I’m in Love with My Car” 3:05

4. “You’re My Best Friend” 2:50

5. “’39” 3:30

6. “Sweet Lady” 4:01

7. “Seaside Rendezvous” 2:13

Side two

8. “The Prophet’s Song” 8:21

9. “Love of My Life” 3:38

10. “Good Company” 3:26

11. “Bohemian Rhapsody” 5:57

12. “God Save the Queen” 

Albums, Classic Rock, Hard rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Robert Plant – Pictures at Eleven

Pictures at Eleven is the debut solo album by Led Zeppelin singer Robert Plant, released in 1982. Phil Collins drummer from Genesis played drums for six of the album’s songs. Former Rainbow drummer Cozy Powell handled drums on “Slow Dancer” and “Like I’ve Never Been Gone.”

When I first bought this album I thought it would sound like a Zeppelin album. The voice was there however the music was softer than I expected. This is an excellent album just don’t expect it sound like Robert Plants former band. There is hints of the Zeppelin sound.

Side one

“Burning Down One Side” – 3:55

“Moonlight in Samosa” – 3:58

“Pledge Pin” – 4:01

“Slow Dancer” – 7:43

Side two

“Worse Than Detroit” – 5:55

“Fat Lip” – 5:05

“Like I’ve Never Been Gone” – 5:56

“Mystery Title” – 5:16

Acid Rock, Albums, Classic Rock, Hard rock, Heavy metal, music, Psychedelic, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Blue Oyster Cult – Secret Treaties

Secret Treaties is the third album by Blue Öyster Cult, released in 1974 by Columbia Records. The album spent 14 weeks in the US album charts.

I’ve always enjoyed this album, the sounds go from heavy to lighting a heart beat. Very unique distinct sound. This one is a must listen to.

Side one

1. “Career of Evil” 3:59

2. “Subhuman” 4:39

3. “Dominance and Submission” 5:23

4. “ME 262” 4:48

Side two

5. “Cagey Cretins” 3:16

6. “Harvester of Eyes” 4:42

7. “Flaming Telepaths” 5:20

8. “Astronomy” 6:28

Acid Rock, Albums, Arena Rock, Books, Classic Rock, Country, Country Rock, Glam Rock, Glitter Rock, Hard rock, Heavy metal, music, Pop, Prog Rock, Progressive Rock, Psychedelic, punk rock, Records, Reggae, Rock, Rock and Roll, Shock Rock, Southern Rock

Rock Covers by Taschen books

I received this book as a Fathers Day gift from my daughter. 

There are approximately 750 rock covers in this book ranging from well known bands and the very obscure. Cover album is Pink Floyd and the back cover is Joe Cocker.

I’ve got many record albums in my collection that are highlighted in this book. The interesting part of this book is the number of bands from the 70’s that I’ve never heard of. I went to iTunes to look some of them up and the bands are very excellent and now I want to buy some online.