Abstract, Acrylic, Art, Canvas, Mixed media

Sailors Sunset – by Amber Ward

Here is another piece of artwork by my daughter. I love this piece, it’s 24″ x 18″ acrylic. The colours say it all “Sailors Sunset”.

Make sure you check out this talented  gals website at amberward.com.

Albums, Classic Rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Santana – Abraxas

Abraxas is the second studio album by the rock band Santana released in September 1970.

The biggest hits off this album are “Black Magic Woman” and “Oye Como Va”. I’ve had this album for decades and if I remember it was a trade for another album. I’m guessing I came out on top as this album is preserved in the National Recording Registry due to its “cultural, historic, or artistic significance.”

LP side 1

No. Title Writer(s) Length

1. “Singing Winds, Crying Beasts” (Instrumental) Mike Carabello 4:51

2. “Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen” Peter Green/Gábor Szabó 5:24

3. “Oye Como Va” Tito Puente 4:17

4. “Incident at Neshabur” (Instrumental) Alberto Gianquinto, Carlos Santana 4:58

LP side 2

No. Title Writer(s) Length

1. “Se a Cabo” José Areas 2:50

2. “Mother’s Daughter” Gregg Rolie 4:25

3. “Samba Pa Ti” (Instrumental) Santana 4:45

4. “Hope You’re Feeling Better” Rolie 4:10

5. “El Nicoya” Areas 1:30

Albums, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Joe Cocker – Joe Cocker!

Joe Cocker! is Joe Cocker’s second studio album, released in 1969. This album features numerous cover songs.

This is my wife’s album and it’s pretty good, I haven’t listened to this for years. 

It’s worth a listen to.

Side One

“Dear Landlord” (Bob Dylan) – 3:23

“Bird on the Wire” (Leonard Cohen) – 4:30

“Lawdy Miss Clawdy” (Lloyd Price) – 2:15

“She Came in Through the Bathroom Window” (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) – 2:37

“Hitchcock Railway” (Don Dunn, Tony McCashen) – 4:41

Side Two

“That’s Your Business Now” (Joe Cocker, Chris Stainton) – 2:56

“Something” (George Harrison) – 3:32

“Delta Lady” (Leon Russell) – 2:51

“Hello, Little Friend” (Leon Russell) – 3:52

“Darling Be Home Soon” (John Sebastian) – 4:49

Albums, Blues, Blues rock, music, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Eric Clapton – Eric Clapton

Eric Clapton is the debut solo album from rock musician Eric Clapton, released in August 1970.

 When I first bought this album I was excited because it was Eric Clapton on his own. However at that time in my music life I only liked heavy loud music which this album is not. I’ve not listened to this one for quite a while and I must say it’s not bad at all.

The biggest hit on this album is “After Midnight” along with a couple of others.

Side One

1. “Slunky” 3:34

2. “Bad Boy” 3:34

3. “Lonesome and a Long Way from Home” 3:29

4. “After Midnight” 2:51

5. “Easy Now” 2:57

6. “Blues Power” 3:09

Side Two

1. “Bottle of Red Wine” 3:06

2. “Lovin’ You Lovin’ Me 3:19

3. “Told You For the Last Time” 2:30

4. “Don’t Know Why” 3:10

5. “Let It Rain”  5:02

Albums, Country Rock, music, Pop, Records, Rock, Rock and Roll

Three Dog Night – Seven Separate Fools

Seven Separate Fools is the eighth album by the rock band Three Dog Night, released in 1972. Their biggest hit on this album was “Black and White”.

My buddies and I would trade records like hockey cards … I got this album with a few more when I gave up one of my better ones. This album is a little on the light side for me however it is still good.

Side one

“Black and White” (David I. Arkin, Earl Robinson) – 3:51
“My Old Kentucky Home (Turpentine and Dandelion Wine)” (Randy Newman) – 3:08

“Prelude to Morning” (Jimmy Greenspoon) – 2:04

“Pieces of April” (Dave Loggins) – 4:10

“Going in Circles” (Jaiananda, Ted Myers) – 3:06

“Chained” (Russ Ballard) – 5:14

Side two

“Tulsa Turnaround” (Larry Collins, Alex Harvey) – 3:41

“In Bed” (Tom Baird, Lynn Henderson, Wes Henderson) – 3:58

“Freedom for the Stallion” (Allen Toussaint) – 3:41

“The Writing’s on the Wall” (Domenic Troiano) – 3:17

“Midnight Runaway” (Gary Itri) – 5:28